About Us

Matagorda County-Palacios

Seawall Commissioners

Craig Wallis


P.O. Drawer 540

Palacios Texas 77465

(361) 920-5012

Joe Kana


504 Mertie Ave.

Palacios, TX 77465


Mike Murray


4581 FM 1095

Palacios, TX 77465

(361) 920-4102

Office Manager

Jeanette Allums



Larry Lanfear

Our Purpose

The Matagorda County-Palacios Seawall Commission receives a portion of county property taxes to construct and maintain seawalls along the bays in and around Matagorda County, the City of Palacios, and Collegeport, Texas.

Our History

The Seawall Commission was established by the State of Texas legislation in 1933, 1934 and updated in 1983 “for Matagorda County precinct #3 boundaries as they existed on December 31, 1959, excluding residents of Bay City.”
Since then Commissioners have been very active in providing erosion control protection in the area, mostly with tax monies from the nearby nuclear plant, STP – monies which ended in 90’s. We now operate with approximately a $240,000 tax year in revenue for repair and maintenance of our current structures and maintain a conservative reserve necessary for hurricane emergencies.


(361) 894-3615


Meeting Location

1602 Main Street, Hwy 35
Palacios, TX 77465


PO Box 779
Palacios, TX 77465

Matagorda County-Palacios Seawall Commission